NineChime forum

Furry stuff, oekaki stuff, and other stuff.

You are not logged in.

#1 02-09-2006 09:14:27

kirichaan

[Installation Problem] mySQL, and my non-helpful webhost T_T

Hi!

Thanks for pulling this lovely program together. After frequenting many long-standing oekaki boards, I'd like to put a semi-private one onto my website, for myself and guests ^^

I have followed your intructions up to the point of using the installation page. I checked all my CHMOD's and Im pretty confident all files are uploaded to my server correctly~

Last night I set up the mySQL database on my webhost- So as it stands I have an SQL database with no tables or data inside. (I am very new with the sql stuff so please bear with me T_T)

When I go to finish the installation, I recieve this sort of error:

Code:

Warning: mysql_connect(): Access denied for user: '********.ip.secureserver.net' (Using password: YES) in /home/content/K/r/i/KristiBonner/html/oekaki/dbconn.php on line 7
Cound not connect to the MySQL database.

I have used the default localhost, and when that didnt work I contacted my webhost to see if it was something on their side that possibly needed to be allowed and all they sent me was this:

Code:

<?php
//Sample Database Connection Syntax for PHP and MySQL.
//Connect To Database
$hostname="mysql.secureserver.net";
$username="your_dbusername";
$password="your_dbpassword";
$dbname="your_dbusername";
$usertable="your_tablename";
$yourfield = "your_field";
mysql_connect($hostname,$username, $password) OR DIE ("<html><script language='JavaScript'<alert('Unable to connect to database! Please try again later.'),history.go(-1)</script></html>");
mysql_select_db($dbname);
# Check If Record Exists
$query = "SELECT * FROM $usertable";
$result = mysql_query($query);
if($result)
{
  while($row = mysql_fetch_array($result))
  {
    $name = $row["$yourfield"];
    echo "Name: ".$name."<br>";
  }
}
?>